Personal tools
Home People Faculty Faculty Directory Gupta, Puneet

Gupta, Puneet


Puneet Gupta, Associate Professor

IBM Faculty Award, 2012
ACM/SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award, 2010
NSF CAREER Award, 2009

Research Group: NanoCAD Laboratory

Personal Website: Link

Office: 6730C Boelter, Phone: 310.825.1376, Email



Puneet Gupta received the B.Tech degree in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi in 2000 and the PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of California, San Diego, in 2007. He was with Blaze DFM Inc. (acquired by Tela Innovations Inc.) from 2004 to 2007 as co-founder and product architect.

He leads the cross-university IMPACT+ center which addresses design and process interactions for future semiconductor technologies. He is  also part of the the NSF Expedition on Variability-Aware Software for Efficient Computing with Nanoscale Devices. He has authored over 100 peer reviewed papers, a book and a book chapter. He holds 15 US patents. He has given tutorial talks at several conferences including DAC, ICCAD, SPIE Advanced Lithography Symposium. He has served on several conference technical program committees including DAC, ICCAD and has served a Program Chair for the IEEE DFM&Y Workshop. 

Research Interests

Professor Gupta's research has focused on optimizations across hardware-software and integrated circuit design-manufacturing interfaces for lowered cost and improved efficiency of integrated circuits and systems. Current focus of research in NanoCAD Lab is design-assisted technology scaling and underdesigned and opportunistic computing. For the former, we specifically look at design automation techniques for assessing, enabling and optimizing semiconductor patterning and device technologies as well as design-aware process control. For the latter, we are looking at software and system-architecture approaches to addressing hardware variability/reliability issues.

Awards and Recognitions

  • 2012 IBM Faculty Award
  • 2010 ACM/SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award
  • 2009 SRC Inventor Recognition Award
  • 2009 NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award
  • 2007 European Design Automation Association (EDAA) Outstanding Dissertation Award.
  • 2004 IBM Ph.D. Fellowship
Document Actions